About the Graie

Drapeau FRAn interface between water professionals

A non-profit organisation, the Graie – group of research, technical coordination and water information has been mobilising and bringing together stakeholders in the fields of water management, aquatic environments and urban planning for more than 30 years. Created in 1985, the Graie now has more than 300 members: public and private professionals, local authorities, firms and research laboratories.

3 international projects

I.S.Rivers logo

Our vocation

Produce and propagate scientific and technical knowledge, highlight case studies and convey collective messages to public authorities. The Graie thus contributes to knowledge appropriation and the evolution of practices & water regulations.

3 main themes


This theme has been one of the Graie’s main activities since its creation. The Graie’s actions aim to promote alternative solutions for stormwater management, better understanding the impact of urban effluents on aquatic environments and assisting with knowledge transfer in the field of water and urban drainage.


The characterisation and control of micropollutants in water is an important emerging issue from both a scientific and public policy point of view. Since 2010, the Graie has coordinated the SIPIBEL observatory – Bellecombe’s pilot site – on the characterisation of hospital and urban effluents, their impact on aquatic environments and levers of action.


The integrated management of water and aquatic environments is the second founding theme of the Graie; it requires inter- and multidisciplinary approaches involving various stakeholders. Since 1985, the Graie has been mobilising a network of experts for the production of an integrated management methodology. It also coordinated a reflection on work to be carried out after flooding, which resulted in an awareness brochure.

Our modes of action

The Graie aims at sharing a culture based on knowledge and exchange of experiences, in order to improve practices in the field of water management. To do so, the Graie:

  • Hosts 5 research groups: ZABR – Rhone Basin Long Term Environment Research, OTHU – Field Observatory for Urban Hydrology around Lyon, SIPIBEL – Bellecombe’s pilot site on hospital effluents and sewage treatment plants in Haute-Savoie, OSR – Rhone Sediment Observatory and OHM VR – Rhone Valley Human-Environment Observatory
  • Coordinates regional exchange networks
  • Organises meetings, conferences and symposiums, from a local to international scale – Our 2 international conferences bring together more than 500 people every 3 years (Novatech & I.S.Rivers)
  • Mobilises research teams on subjects requiring multidisciplinary skills
  • Produces technical, scientific and awareness documents freely available on its website
  • Represents a community of local authorities, scientists and technical partners that draws up and presents proposals to the State, to diverse authorities and partners on a national scale, in order to build or improve the regulatory framework for water management on the territories


The permanent team of Graie is composed of 11 members of staff including 6 project managers, with both technical and scientific skills.
The Graie relies on a board of directors made up of representatives of local authorities, research organisations and companies. It is supported by many partners: Water agencies, local authorities, Ministries, …

The members of the bureau and the board of directors

The bureau

Stéphane BUSCHAERT, BRGM Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes


Pascal BOISTARD, INRAE Lyon-Grenoble Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes

Laurent BAUMANN, Veolia Eau Grand Est

Pascale LUCAS, Grand Chambéry
Adjunct treasurer

Frédéric CHERQUI, INSA Lyon

Olivier SAINTPIERRE, Suez Consulting – Safège
Adjunct secretary

Board of directors

Mandate : 2020-2023

BRGM Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes – Stéphane BUSCHAERT, substitute Blandine CLOZEL LELOUP
Mandate : 2019-2022

ENTPE – Yves PERRODIN, suppléant Laurent LASSABATERE
Mandate : 2021-2024

Grand Chambéry – Pascale LUCAS,
Mandate : 2020-2023

INSA Lyon – Frédéric CHERQUI, substitute Jean-Luc BERTRAND-KRAJEWSKI
Mandate : 2021-2024

IRG-Université Lyon II – Norbert LANDON, substitute Oldrich NAVRATIL
Mandate : 2021-2024

INRAE Lyon-Grenoble Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes – Pascal BOISTARD, substitute Pascal MOLLE
Mandate : 2019-2022

Lycée LEGTA AGROTEC Vienne Seyssuel – Boris SZEMPRUCH, substitute Sophie BRUDER
Mandate : 2020-2023

Réalités Environnement – Marc WIRZ, substitute Flavie CROUZET
Mandate : 2019-2022

Roannaise de l’eau – Syndicat du cycle de l’eau – Daniel FRECHET, substitute Pascal PETIT
Mandate : 2019-2022

Structures Etudes Diagnostics IC – Sylvestre E. DORE, substitute Valérie PETIT
Mandate : 2021-2024

Suez Consulting – Safège – Olivier SAINTPIERRE, substitute Marine FEUARDENT
Mandate : 2021-2024

Syndicat des Eaux des Rocailles et de Bellecombe – Audrey ROCH, substitute Luc PATOIS
Mandate : 2021-2024

Syndicat Intercommunal du Lac d’Annecy – SILA – Valérie GUICHARD, substitute Yovann LOIR
Mandate : 2020-2023

Teractem – Pierre FRANCILLARD, substitute Dominique FLEURENT
Mandate : 2019-2022

Valence Romans Agglo – Marlène BLANC, substitute Franck BIOTEAU
Mandate : 2020-2023

Veolia Eau Grand Est – Laurent BAUMANN, substitute Frédéric GOGIEN
Mandate : 2020-2023